AHSAA Announces North-South All-Star Basketball Team Roster

The rosters for the 2022 AHSAA North-South All-Star Girls’ and Boys’ basketball games were announced Tuesday by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

Basketball games will be played as part of All-Star Week in Montgomery in conjunction with the AHSAA Summer Conference scheduled for July 18-22. All-star games will also be played in baseball, softball, volleyball, soccer, cross country, tennis and golf. The Football All-Star Game was held in December in Mobile.

The coaches of the North women’s basketball team are Natasha Smallwood, Susan Moore; Melissa Bennett, Oxford; and Brant Llewellyn of Lauderdale County, who will be the administrative coach for the two northern teams. The Southern Girls will be coached by Melissa White, Pike County; Willie Morgan, Selma; and Robb McGaughey, LAMP, administrative coach for both Southern teams.

The North Boys coaches are Denton Johnson of Ramsay and Bret Waldrep of Covenant Christian. The Southern Boys coaches are Shane Colquhoun of Loachapoka and Shumbe Hunter of Williamson.

Basketball All-Star Teams are made up of 15 rising seniors and include several players who appeared in state championship games in 2022. Five North team players played in title games : Class 7A MVP Reniya Kelly and the All-State Tournament. State Champion Hoover’s Alanah Spooner selection; Class 5A MVP Olivia Vandergriff of Champion Guntersville; All-State Tournament Players Nyla Collier of 6A Champion Hazel Green; Chloe Siegal of Class 4A Champion Deshler; Kallie Tinker of Class 2A State Champion Pisgah; and Cali Smallwood, daughter of North Star coach and star of State 3A finalist Susan Moore.

The South team includes two starters from two-time 3A state champion Prattville Christian — state all-tournament picks Hannah Jones and CoCo Thomas. Others who played Birmingham in the final are McGill-Toolen Catholic’s Lindsay Cox (6A); Taylah Murph-Dowdell of Loachapoka (1A); Ella Vallas of St. Paul’s Episcopal (5A); Kaelyn Hall of St. James (4A); and Kendall Lacoste from University Charter School (1A). Six players who have competed in Birmingham are on the men’s team, three in each squad. For the North, State 4A Tournament MVP Cade Phillips and ASWA Class 4A Player of the Year John Broom – both from champion Jacksonville; and 5A Kerrington Kiel All-State Tournament selection of 5A runner-up Ramsay. The South team includes Jaden Nixon who started for 2021 state champion and 2022 semi-finalist Autaugaville and two of 2A Highland Home semi-finalist Keldric Faulk and Terrin Brown.

The complete 2022 All-Star basketball rosters, with school, position and height:


Hope West, AP Brewer, G/F, 5-10

Tyla Tatum, Collinsville, G/F, 5-9

Chloe Siegel, Deshler, G, 5-7

Olivia Vandergriff, Guntersville, G, 5-9

Nyla Necklace, hazelnut green, L, 5-8

April Hooks, Hewitt-Trussville, G, 5-8

Audreonia Benson, Hewitt-Trussville, G, 5-7

Reniya Kelly, Hoover, G, 5-7

Alanah Pooler, Hoover, C, 6-1

Ruthie Smith, Lauderdale County, C, 6-1

Jaylen Pleasant, Mortimer Jordan, LW, 5-4

Kallie Tinker, Pisgah, G, 5-4

Briley Merrill, Ranburne, PG, 5-11

Kennedy Langham, Sparkman, G, 5-8

Cali Smallwood, Susan Moore, G, 5-8


Destiny Johnson, Center, Phenix City, F, 6-1

Iyauna Gordy, Eufaula, G, 5-5

Kellyn Hunter, Faith Academy, P/G, 5-5

JoVala Ocean, Greenville, P/G, 5-2

Naomi Jones, Jackson, C, 6-3

Timya Thurman, Linden, C, 6-4

Taylah Murph-Dowdell, Loachapoka, P/G, 5-5

Khashya Richardson, Luverne, P/G, 5-4

Lindsey Cox, McGill-Toolen, G, 5-3

Lameria “CoCo” Thomas, Prattville Christian, F, 5-11

Hannah Jones, Prattville Christian, F, 6-2

Kaelyn Hall, Saint James, G, 5-7

Ella Vallas, St. Paul, F, 6-2

Emma Kate Smith, Trinity, G, 5-9

Kendall Lacoste, University Charter, P/G, 5-7


Paul Lanzi, Chelsea, G, 6-3

Jordyn Turner-Durley, Florence, G, 6-2

RJ Johnson, Grissom, W, 6-4

Drake James, Haleyville, G, 6-3

William Collins, Holy Spirit, F, 6-3

Jamari Arnold, Huntsville, G, 5-9

John Broom, Jacksonville, West, 6-4

Cade Phillips, Jacksonville, F, 6-9

Kyle Layton, Mountain Brook, G, 6-0

Alex Odam, Piedmont, G, 6-3

Kerrington Kiel, Ramsay, W, 6-6

Jacob St. Clair, Sand Rock, G, 6-2

Tyson Sexton, Scottsboro, G, 6-5

Zach Gray, Spain Park, W, 6-6

Win Miller, Vestavia Hills, G, 6-4


Jaden Nixon, Autaugaville, G, 6-4

Tyler Thomas, Cottage Hill, F, 6-6

Trent Thomas, Cottage Hill, F, 6-6

Thomas Dowd, Dothan, C, 6-7

Patrick Vis, Eufaula, C, 6-6

Tyler Mallory, Greenville, G, 5-7

Terrin Brown, Highland House, F, 6-4

Keldric Faulk, Highland House, F, 6-6

Jayron Merrill, Jackson, G, 6-3

Zidkijah Edmond, Jeff Davis, G, 6-0

Ketwan Reeves, Jeff Davis, G, 5-10

JaSaveion Moore, Loachapoka, G, 6-2

Antonio Jackson, Blount, G, 6-2

Johntarius Green, Montgomery Catholic, G, 6-0

Devyn Pearman, Station Smiths, G, 5-9

Comments are closed.