Four NBA players set to play for Canada in FIBA ​​Basketball World Cup Qualifiers

NBA players Nickeil Alexander-Walker, Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kelly Olynyk and Dwight Powell headline Canadian men’s national basketball team training camp roster ahead of third window of playoffs for the FIBA ​​Basketball World Cup 2023.

Sixteen players will gather in Toronto for camp next week ahead of games against the Dominican Republic on July 1 in Hamilton (7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT) and the host U.S. Virgin Islands on July 4 (5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT). Both games will be on Sportsnet.

Canada Basketball says RJ Barrett, Oshae Brissett, Khem Birch, Luguentz Dort, Jamal Murray and Kevin Pangos will attend training camp but will not play games, while Cory Joseph received a team bye for family reasons and will not attend camp.

The rest of the roster is filled by Europe-based pros and seven-foot-four Purdue center Zach Edey.

Canada is 4-0 in this qualifying round and has already secured a spot in the next round.

Eighty national teams will play matches across six qualifying windows to secure their place among the 30 teams that will join hosts Japan and the Philippines in the 32-team edition of FIBA’s showpiece event.

Comments are closed.