LSU Basketball Players Named to All SEC and Freshman Teams, Tari Eason Sixth Man of the Year

The SEC released its regular season awards on Tuesday and the Tigers were well represented for their performances in 2021-22.

Forward Tari Eason was a first-team All SEC winner as well as the conference’s Sixth Man of the Year, Darius Days earned second-team All SEC honors while Brandon Murray was named to the team All Freshman.

Eason established himself early in the season as one of the best sixth men in the nation, coming off the bench and averaging 16.9 points, 6.9 rebounds with 2.0 steals per game. The sophomore transfer was one of the real gems found in the transfer portal and rocketed into the first round of this year’s NBA draft due to his defensive instincts and unique skills at the position. attacker.

It’s also the first time Days has earned an All SEC honor, making the Tigers second team the senior forward with an average of 13.6 points and 7.7 rebounds while showing real improvement defensively and his ball handling skills. Days has been one of the leaders of this team for the past two seasons,

It also doesn’t appear to be the only award Brandon Murray wins in his LSU career, being named to the Freshman team after averaging 10.9 points and more than one steal per game, being one of the most fiercest of the team. Murray is one of those talents who could be an All SEC player in the next two seasons for the Tigers and his impact on the field is the difference between purple and gold.

Here’s an overview of all the SEC men’s basketball season awards:

first team

JD Notae, Arkansas

Jaylin Williams, Arkansas

Walker Kessler, Auburn

Jabari Smith, Auburn

Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky

Tari Eason, LSU

Iverson Molinar, Mississippi State

Santiago Vescovi, Tennessee

Scotty Pippen Jr., Vanderbilt

second team

Jaden Shackleford, Alabama

Colin Castleton, Florida

TyTy Washington Jr., Kentucky

Sahvir Wheeler, Kentucky

Darius Days, LSU

Kobe Brown, Mo.

Kennedy Chandler, Tennessee

Quenton Jackson, Texas A&M

Freshman team

Charles Bediako, Alabama

JD Davison, Alabama

Jabari Smith, Auburn

TyTy Washington Jr., Kentucky

Brandon Murray, LSU

Devin Carter, South Carolina

Kennedy Chandler, Tennessee

Zakai Zeigler, Tennessee

All-Defensive Team

Keon Ellis, Alabama

Jaylin Williams, Arkansas

Walker Kessler, Auburn

Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky

Zakai Zeigler, Tennessee

Coach of the Year: Bruce Pearl, Auburn

Player of the Year: Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jordan Wright, Vanderbilt

Freshman of the Year: Jabari Smith, Auburn

Sixth Man of the Year: Tari Eason, LSU

Defensive Player of the Year: Walker Kessler, Auburn

Comments are closed.