Meet the 2022 All Iowa High School Basketball Teams on the Register

With the amount of talent that rolled out of Iowa high schools last season, it’s hard to imagine who could top that.

And yet, Iowa continues to produce lots of high school basketball gems, including a new generation of future college players at all levels. That doesn’t make All-Iowa team selection any easier, with several deserving players left on those rosters.

Six players are included in the elite squad, which can include players from all four classes. There are six players in the first teams for each class and 20 honorable mentions. All players included will be honored at the Iowa High School Sports Awards show this summer.

AFTER: Who were the top 8 scouts in the state tournament?

Members of the elite team are nominated for Men’s Basketball Player of the Year. The winner will be announced at the Iowa High School Sports Awards this summer. More details on the program will be available soon. The Men’s Basketball Player of the Year is presented by the University of Nebraska – Kearney.

The names are listed in alphabetical order.

After:Dallas Center-Grimes’ Joel Rankin Named 2022 Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year for Iowa Boys

Iowa Elite Team

Cedar Falls' Trey Campbell is an elite team selection.

Trey Campbell

cedar falls | Senior | Guardian

Campbell needs little explanation as to why he is on the elite team. He helped Cedar Falls to the state tournament in the four years he played high school basketball. The Northern Iowa signee averaged 24.4 points, 6.0 rebounds, 4.2 assists and 2.2 steals per game. He shot 54.3% from the field and 42.4% from 3 points.

Ballard's Ashton Hermann is an elite team selection.

Ashton Herman

Ballard | Senior | Guardian

Class 3A was the place to be for the top performing guards this season. Hermann was second among all high school players with 27.1 points per game. The Drury rookie backed that up with 6.2 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 2.1 steals per game in his final season at Ballard.

Johnston's Trey Lewis is an elite team selection.

Trey Lewis

Johnston | Senior | Guardian

Lewis helped Johnston win the state title game for the second straight year, but ran into a determined Ames team with healthy Tamin Lipsey. That doesn’t take away from Lewis’ success this season. The Drury rookie averaged 21.1 points, 6.9 rebounds and 4.7 assists per game.

Tamin Lipsey of Ames is an elite team selection.

Tamin Lipsey

Ames | Senior | Guardian

After a few injury setbacks, Lipsey finished his high school basketball career with a Class 4A state championship. The Iowa State signer has been a household name for high school basketball fans in Iowa for quite some time, and he’s shown why he’ll be a Division I player. He’s a selfless scorer, averaging 15.7 points and 6.4 assists per game.

AFTER: Tamin Lipsey had a magical last run for his Ames basketball career

Okoboji's Lucas Lorenzen is a member of the elite team.

Lucas Lorenzen

okoboji | Senior | Forward

Lorenzen has been the most dominant scorer in Iowa high school basketball this season. He finished the year with 744 points overall, averaging 31 per game. He has led all high school players in scoring since the start of the season and has never let up. He also showed up on defense, averaging 11.8 rebounds and 1.7 steals per game.

Waukee Northwest's Pryce Sandfort is an elite team selection.

Pryce Sandfort

Northwest Waukee | junior | Forward

After playing alongside a trio of Division I-level talent, it was Sandfort’s time to shine, and there’s no doubt he did. He finished the season averaging 26.6 points, 10.3 rebounds, and 2.9 blocks per game, while shooting 52.6 percent from the field. Very few high school players come close to those numbers, and Sandfort is just a junior.

AFTER: Inside Pryce Sandfort’s journey to becoming a must-have basketball rookie

Class 4A First Team

Trey Campbell, Sr., Cedar Falls

Josh Dix, Sr., Council Bluffs Lincoln

Trey Lewis, Sr. Johnston

Tamin Lipsey, father, Ames

Kenzie Reed, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

Pryce Sandfort, Jr., Northwest Waukee

Class 3A First Team

Dayton Davis, Sr., Fort Madison

Shawn Gilbert, Sr., Central DeWitt

Cole Glasgow, Sr., Dallas Center-Grimes

Ashton Hermann, father, Ballard

Brayson Laube, Jr., Marion

Karter Petzenhauser, father, Spencer

Class 2A First Team

Lucas Lorenzen, father, Okoboji

Zach Lutmer, Jr., Center Lyon

Eric Mulder, Sr., Pella Christian

Tate Petersen, Jr., Monticello

Tanner Te Slaa, Sr., Boyden-Hull

Bryson Van Grootheest, Sr., Rock Valley

Class 1A First Team

Preston Gillespie, Jr., Dunkerton

Maddox Griffin, Sr., Wapello

Manny Hammonds, Sr., Grand View Christian

Wyatt Helming, Sr., Lake Mills

Austin Hilmer, Sr., North Linn

Doug Taylor, Jr., Newman Catholic

Honorable mention

Daniel Tobiloba, Jr., Grand View Christian

Ruot Bijiek, father, Valley

Caleb Dreckman, father, LeMars

Cameron Fens, father, Hempstead

Kaden Hall, sr., English Dales

Carter Harmsen, Sr., Mid-Prairie

Tate Haughenbury, Jr., North Linn

Chase Henderson, Jr., Des Moines Hoover

Drew Kingery, Jr., Indianola

Steven Kramer, father, Johnston

Trevion LaBeaux, father, Ames

Jayden Mackie, Sr., Aplington-Parkersburg

Karl Miller, father, Pella

Pete Moe, Sr., Iowa City West

Blaise Porter, Jr., New London

Armonniey Thomas, Sr., Marshalltown

Carson Toebe, Sr., Clear Lake

Ty Van Essen, sr., Western Christian

Rhenden Wagaman, Sr., Springville

Jake Walter, Father, Meadow

Alyssa Hertel is a college sports recruiting reporter for the Des Moines Register. Contact Alyssa at or on Twitter @AlyssaHertel.

Comments are closed.