No. 24 favorite Hoosier? Picking Indiana’s Favorite Basketball Players, One Number at a Time

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Welcome to our summer series where Hoosier basketball fans can vote for their favorite Indiana players to wear each number. Today, we resume with all the best to wear the number 24.

Favorite Hoosier?

Each day we’re going to give you four picks along with a short player bio to choose your favorite Hoosier who wore a certain number.

Here are your four No. 24 jersey picks in alphabetical order so we don’t show bias. Be sure to take the poll below via Twitter.

(Editor’s note: We’ll be taking results for 48 hours on the poll, then sharing the results on this story the next day, so check back regularly to see the results.)

Steve Ahlfeld (1972-75)

Wabash, Indiana guard Steve Ahlfeld played 64 games for the Hoosiers, shooting 44.6 percent from the field and 63.9 percent from the free throw line.

One of former head coach Bob Knight’s first recruits, Ahlfeld appeared in two NCAA tournaments, including a Final Four in 1973 and an Elite Eight in 1975.

Ahlfeld and the Hoosiers won the Big Ten regular season championship in all three seasons of Ahlfeld’s college basketball career with a 76–12 record.

Steve Ahlfeld

Michael Lewis (1996-00)

Jasper, Indiana native Michael Lewis played 3,163 minutes for the Hoosiers, scoring 887 points and 545 assists, which ranks second all-time in program history behind Yogi Ferrell’s 633.

The guard has been part of four NCAA Tournament appearances, two first-rounders and two second-rounders during his Hoosiers career.

After Indiana, Lewis had a brief pro career before leaving for Texas Tech to serve as an assistant coach under Knight. Lewis had several other coaching stints with Stephen F. Austin State University, Eastern Illinois, Butler, Nebraska, UCLA and now Ball State.

Since 2022, Lewis has been the head coach of the Cardinals basketball team and works with former Hoosier Jamal Meeks, who is an assistant coach.

Michael Lewis

Michael Lewis

Daryl Thomas (1983-87)

From Westchester, Illinois, Daryl Thomas left his mark on the Hoosiers as the 49th all-time leading scorer with 1,095 points in four seasons and 106 games played.

Scroll to continue

The forward/center was a member of three Hoosiers NCAA Tournament teams, best known for the 1987 NCAA Championship team he co-captain. Indiana beat Syracuse by one point for the Hoosiers’ fifth NCAA title and coach Bob Knight’s third with Indiana.

After college, Thomas was selected as the 120th overall pick in the 1987 NBA Draft by the Sacramento Kings. He didn’t end up making the team and instead played overseas for 13 seasons.

Thomas then coached basketball at Montini Catholic High School near Chicago. In March 2018, Thomas tragically passed away from a heart attack.

After Thomas passed away, Knight reflected on Thomas’ selfless style of play.

“Ever since that 1987 league game, I’ve always called it the greatest single play I’ve ever had a kid do: dropping the ball and setting the screen that opened up the man for the shot that won a national championship.”

Daryl Thomas

Daryl Thomas

Randy Wittman (1978-83)

Randy Wittman, a native of Indianapolis, Indiana, ranks 16th on Indiana’s all-time leading scorers list with 1,549 points. He also had 405 rebounds, 309 assists and 128 steals.

Wittman was part of four NCAA Tournament appearances, including the 1981 NCAA title game where Indiana beat second seed North Carolina 63-50 for their fourth title and the second to coach Bob Knight with the Hoosiers.

At halftime, the Hoosiers trailed until Wittman hit a corner kick at the halftime buzzer to set the tone for the second half.

In 1983, Wittman was named Big Ten Player of the Year and second-team All-American after the Hoosiers’ Sweet 16 run.

Wittman was selected as the 22nd overall pick in the 1983 NBA Draft by the Washington Bullets, but his rights were traded to the Atlanta Hawks. He then had a short stint with the Sacramento Kings before becoming a fringe player with the Indiana Pacers.

Wittman was not yet done with the game as he began a long NBA coaching career with multiple teams, including as head coach of the Cleveland Cavaliers, Minnesota Timberwolves and later the Washington Wizards.

Randy Wittman

Randy Wittman

Indiana’s all-time number 24

Here are all the players who have worn No. 24 at Indiana:

  • Vijay Blackmon — (2017-19)
  • Grant Gelon — (2016-17)
  • Jackson Thrap — (2015-16)
  • Jeff Howard — (2010-14)
  • Steven Gamble — (2008-10)
  • Brandon McGee — (2007-08)
  • Robert Vaden — (2004-06)
  • Michael Lewis — (1996-00)
  • Matt Nover — (1989-93)
  • Daryl Thomas — (1983-87)
  • Randy Wittman — (1978-83)
  • Steve Ahlfeld — (1972-75)
  • David Berger — (1971-72)
  • Kim Pemberton — (1970-72)
  • Ken Morgan — (1968-71)
  • Bobby Kent — (1967-68)
  • Vern Pfaff — (1963-67)
  • Ray Pavy — (1960-61)
  • Herbie Lee — (1958-60)
  • Ray Ball — (1955-58)
  • Sherrill’s Marginette — (1953-54)
  • Jack Wright — (1952-53)
  • John Wood — (1951-52, 1954-55)
  • Tyrie Robbins — (1949-51)
  • Ted Kauffman — (1948-49)
  • Byard Hey — (1947-49)
  • Zygmund Belsowski — (1944-45)
  • Herod Toon — (1943-44)
  • Forsyth Cliff — (1940-41)
  • John Torphy — (1939-40)
  • Herm Schäfer — (1938-41)
  • William Johnson — (1938-39)

Vote for your favorite number 24 on Twitter

You will be able to vote on Twitter for your favorite player with each number. Here is the link to today’s poll for #24.

Comments are closed.