No. 54 favorite Hoosier? Picking Indiana’s Favorite Basketball Players, One Number at a Time

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Welcome to our summer series where Hoosier basketball fans can vote for their favorite Indiana players to wear each number. Today, we resume with all the best to wear the number 54.

Favorite Hoosier?

Each day we’re going to give you four picks along with a short player bio to choose your favorite Hoosier who wore a certain number.

Here are your four No. 54 jersey picks in alphabetical order so we don’t show bias. Be sure to take the poll below via Twitter.

(Editor’s note: We’ll be taking results for 24 hours on the poll, then sharing the results on this story the next day, so check back regularly to see the results.)

Kent Benson (1973-77)

New Castle, Indiana center Kent Benson ranks ninth on Indiana’s all-time leading scorers list with 1,740 points in four seasons with the Hoosiers.

Benson shot 53.6% from the field and 71.5% from the free throw line. He also ranked third in all-time rebounds with 1,031 behind Walt Bellamy and Alan Henderson.

Benson was a member of the 1975 Elite Eight team and also the 1976 National Championship team when Indiana beat Michigan 86-68 for coach Bob Knight’s first NCAA title after a perfect 32 season. -0.

He was named Most Outstanding Player in the 1976 NCAA Finals. After his final season at Indiana in 1977, Benson was the Milwaukee Bucks’ first overall pick in the 1977 NBA Draft.

The former Indiana Mr. Basketball played 11 years in the NBA with three different teams before moving overseas to play for one season.

Kent Benson

Steve Bouchie (1979-83)

Forward Steve Bouchie was named Indiana’s Mr. Basketball at Washington High School in 1979 before coming to Indiana for his freshman 1979-80 season.

Under Coach Knight, Bouchie helped the team win two Big Ten regular season titles in 1981 and 1983, as well as four NCAA Tournament appearances.

Bouchie and the Hoosiers were on fire for his college career as Indiana advanced to the Sweet 16, won the 1981 title game against North Carolina, made a second-round appearance, and ultimately had a Sweet 16 in of Bouchie’s last year.

After his brilliant run with Indiana, he was drafted by the Detroit Pistons in 1983. Bouchie also played professionally in Italy before a career-ending hand injury.

In 2020, the decorated player died of a sudden heart attack over the July 4 weekend.

Steve Bouchie

Steve Bouchie

Chris Lawson (1989-91)

A native of Bloomington, Indiana, Chris Lawson only played at Indiana for two seasons, mostly on the bench.

The center/forward totaled 195 points, 129 rebounds and appeared in the first round of the Hoosiers NCAA Tournament in 1990 and a Sweet 16 run the following year where Indiana also won the Big Ten regular season title with a 29-5 record.

Scroll to continue

Lawson transferred to Vanderbilt for his final two years of eligibility where the Commodores made the Sweet 16 his junior year and the NIT Finals his senior year.

Chris Lawson

Chris Lawson

Jon McGlocklin (1962-65)

Jon McGlocklin, a native of Franklin, Indiana, is like a Swiss army knife listed as a forward, center and guard on the roster.

In three seasons, he racked up 873 career points and 343 rebounds for Indiana. He shot an impressive 79.6% from the charity strip and then 48.5% from the field.

While McGlocklin was a Hoosier under coach Branch McCracken, Indiana didn’t play in any NCAA tournaments or win any conference titles, but still had some great winning seasons.

Jon McGlocklin

Jon McGlocklin

Indiana’s all-time number 51

Here are all the players who have worn No. 51 at Indiana:

  • Logan Duncomb— (2021-current)
  • Earl Calloway— (2005-07)
  • Marty Simmons— (1983-85)

Indiana’s all-time number 52

Here are all the players who have worn #52 at Indiana:

  • Courtney Witte— (1983-84, 1985-86)

Indiana’s all-time number 53

Here are all the players who have worn #53 at Indiana:

  • Tamar Bates— (2021-current)
  • Tom Geyer— (1997-00)
  • Ross Hales— (1993-94)

Indiana’s all-time number 54

Here are all the players who have worn No. 54 at Indiana:

  • Chris Lawson— (1989-91)
  • Steve Bouchie— (1979-83)
  • Kent Benson— (1973-77)
  • Kim Pemberton— (1970-72)
  • Mike Szymanczyk— (1968-70)
  • Jon Mc Locklin — (1962-65)

No. 55 all-time in Indiana

Here are all the players who have worn #55 at Indiana:

  • Evan Fitzner— (2018-19)
  • Haris Mujezinovic — (1995-97)
  • Tom Abernethy— (1972-76)
  • Ed Daniels— (1970-71)

Vote for your favorite number 54 on Twitter

You will be able to vote on Twitter for your favorite player with each number. Here is the link to today’s poll for #54.

Favorite results ‘Hoosier’

Check this story daily to see which players won the vote for each respective number.

History of ‘Hoosier’ favorite results CLICK HERE

Comments are closed.